Waitlisted people can take themselves off a trip any time GH2131
I see why people signed up for a trip need to contact the leader to take themselves off a trip after signups for the trip has closed. However, I DON'T SEE why that applies for people who are merely waitlisted.
What is the possible logic for this?? Especially since being waitlisted means you can't sign up for anything else at the same time. You need to contact the leader and then the leader, who may be away from email, needs to take them off. Especially since the closure period for some trips is way in advance of the trip.
This should be changed, or at least the rationale explained because it's not obvious.
Participants may now cancel from an activity if they are on the wailist and registration is closes.
David Bradley commented
This is a nuisance for trip leaders too. Handling emails from waitlisted participants who need only to be cancelled from the activity seems like an unnecessary chore for volunteer trip leaders. Also, bear in mind that some high commitment trips such as multiday backpacks have signup deadlines set up 1 - 2 weeks or more before the trip itself. That's a long time for a waitlisted participant to be locked into a trip that they may not be able to go on, and it's common for people to want to be cancelled so that they can sign up for something else instead.